Is Heinz Chili Sauce Gluten Free?

Heinz Chili Sauce is popular, and that’s for all the right reasons.

Some notable properties are the flavour and thickness usually associated with flour.

That’s a known source of gluten; hence, one wonders whether Heinz Chili Sauce is gluten-free.

The Heinz Chili Sauce is gluten-free since none of its ingredients contain gluten.

It uses alternative thickening components to make the chilli sauce thick without introducing gluten.

Consequently, people with gluten sensitivity can enjoy it without worrying about any bad reaction.

Besides, its distinct flavour makes it an excellent condiment for all egg dishes.

Here is a discussion of things you should know about the brand and chilli sauces.

What Are the Ingredients of Heinz Chili Sauce?

The list of Heinz Chili Sauce ingredients is as follows

  • Corn syrup
  • Dehydrated onions
  • Distilled white vinegar
  • Garlic powder
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Natural flavouring
  • Salt
  • Spice
  • Tomato puree, which is a mixture of tomato paste and water

None of its ingredients is a known source of gluten, which means that it is a gluten-free chilli sauce.

Which Other Chili Sauces Are Gluten-Free?

Besides Heinz Chilli Sauce, other similar sauces don’t contain gluten.

In fact, most chilli sauces are gluten-free, including popular ones such as Sriracha and Tabasco varieties.

Sriracha is a hot chilli sauce comprising mashed sun-ripened chillies.

The smooth paste is then blended with sugar and garlic before being bottled.

On the other hand, Tabasco sauces have various flavours, such as Pizza, Garlic, Jalapeno, Habanero and Chipotle sauces.

There are also the mayonnaise, mustard and ketchup varieties, but what’s common among them all is the gluten-free property.

Fair enough, the pair of brands isn’t the only gluten-free chilli sauce manufacturers around.

You can also consider the Indian Chili Sauce and the Asian Chili Garlic Sauce, which are readily available.

Other options are the Korean Chili Sauce and the Chinese Chili Sauce.

The Thai Chili Sauce is also on the list, and it has a striking resemblance to its Sriracha counterpart.

However, its flavour is milder compared to the Sriracha one.

Remember to always clarify that the chilli sauce is gluten-free before using it, especially if you have celiac or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

You can do so by checking the list of ingredients, reading the relevant labels or contacting the manufacturer.

Which Major Brands Make Gluten-Free Chilli Sauce?

First, the list of brands making gluten-free chilli sauce is quite long.

Some make it easy to distinguish gluten-free chilli sauces by adding labels.

Others list the ingredients and trust that your judgement will guide you accordingly.

Instead of checking out the various labels and ingredients, you can go for commonly known brands.

They make gluten-free Chilli sauces that are flavorful and tasty.

One of them is Heinz, which explains why its chilli sauce is popular even among celiacs.

Others include Mrs Renfro’s, La Preferida, Frank’s RedHot, Annie’s and Tabasco chilli sauces.

The labels and ingredients should help you when choosing one to avoid the consequences of eating an allergen your body reacts harshly to.

What Are Alternatives to the Heinz Chili Sauce?

Interestingly, there are various chilli sauces that you can substitute for this one.

The most common substitutes for the Heinz chilli sauce are salsa, tomato sauce and ketchup.

However, it is hard to find a substitute that matches the taste of the famous Heinz Chili Sauce.

It explains why most people will combine two of its substitutes in an attempt to match its unique taste.

For instance, combining chilli sauce and chilli paste makes a condiment that will add extra flavour to any dish.

Alternatively, look for products with a paste and sauce label.

Another option is a cocktail sauce since it has various spices.

Whether you need to enhance your food’s flavour or seek a condiment, the sauce never disappoints.

Tips When Looking for Gluten-Free Chilli Sauces

So, you won’t expect any wheat-based seasoning, such as Worcestershire sauce and soy sauce.

Ale, beer, traditional bread crumbs and flour aren’t on the list as well.

There are various alternatives to these gluten products.

For instance, breadcrumbs don’t have to contain gluten, and you just have to use the gluten-free ones.

Other alternatives are buckwheat flour and ground almonds, which eliminate the need for gluten-containing breadcrumbs and flour.

Which Other Henz Products Are Gluten-Free?

Henz is a brand that produces several gluten-free products, including the following;

Frozen and Canned Gluten-Free Meals

Options under this category include the following;

  • Vegan mac & cheese
  • Beef & vegetable shepherd’s pie

Gluten-Free Condiments

Henz gluten-free condiments come in various flavours, such as;

  • Barbeque sauce
  • Honey mustard dressing
  • Sweet and sour sauce
  • Tomato ketchup

Heinz produces various gluten-free BBQ sauces, including the following;

  • BBQ Sauce Hickory
  • Chicken and Rib BBQ Sauce
  • Diana Sauce Gourmet Western Smokehouse BBQ Sauce
  • Diana Sauce Honey Garlic Rib & Wing BBQ Sauce
  • Diana Sauce International Sweet Curry
  • Diana Sauce International Tandoori
  • Diana Sauce Thai Sweet & Sour
  • Diana Sauce Thai Sweet & Spicey
  • Garlic BBQ Sauce
  • Jack Daniel’s BBQ Sauces Original #7
  • Original Barbecue Sauce
  • Sweet & Smoky Barbecue Sauce

Gluten-Free Canned Food Items

These food items include the following;

  • Canned baked beans, which also has a vegetarian-friendly version
  • Canned fruits
  • Canned soups
  • Canned vegetables

Other Gluten-Free Products

The list of gluten-free products from Heinz is incomplete without the following items;

  • Balsamic vinaigrette salad dressing
  • Barbecue sauce
  • Classic ketchup
  • Classic ranch salad dressing
  • Classic steak sauce
  • Fat-free Italian dressing
  • Honey mustard salad dressing
  • Original yellow mustard
  • Reduced sugar ketchup

What Is the Difference Between Heinz Chili Sauce and Ketchup?

You can use the ketchup as much as you can use the chilli sauce, but it doesn’t mean they are similar.

After all, their recipes are different, and so are the tastes.

Chilli sauce is quite spicy since it adds onions instead of onion powder.

There are also aromatic spices which add to the tangy flavour.

It explains why chilli sauce tastes better than ketchup.

Chilli sauce is also more versatile and, hence, suitable for burgers, sandwiches and egg dishes, including fried eggs, scrambled eggs and omelettes.

Can Celiacs Eat Heinz Chili Sauce

Since the Heinz Chili Sauce doesn’t contain gluten, celiacs can enjoy it without worries since it is the ingredient their bodies react to adversely.

After all, its ingredients are non-gluten, with not a single one known as a source of gluten.

Is Heinz Chili Sauce Gluten Free?
Scroll to top