Is Bertolli Vodka Sauce Gluten Free?

Whereas most vodka sauces are gluten-free, one can’t afford to assume anything regarding this allergen.

After all, people with celiac or other types of gluten sensitivities face dire consequences after ingesting it.

So, is Bertolli vodka sauce among the majority of the exceptions?

Unless it has a label that states otherwise, Bertolli’s vodka source isn’t gluten-free.

At least one of its ingredients contains gluten; hence advisable not to consume it if your body is intolerant to it.

However, if you confirm that none of its ingredients contains gluten, you can consider using it.

Nevertheless, that’s also not a good idea since Bertolli also makes other products.

Other products from this company include cooking sprays, olive oils, frozen meals, and other pasta sources, including the white ones and their tomato-based counterparts.

Since all the products are manufactured in the same facility, the chances of cross-contamination are relatively high.

To worsen the situation, Bertolli doesn’t test if its non-gluten products have traces of the allergen.

Under such circumstances, it is advisable to avoid Bertolli vodka sauce if your gluten sensitivity is severe.

What is Bertolli Vodka Sauce?

If you are looking for a creamy and flavorful sauce, don’t hesitate to settle for the Bertolli vodka sauce.

As the name suggests, one of its ingredients is vodka, and other major components are cream and tomatoes.

The sauce is commonly served over pasta, where one can use it as a condiment or dip.

In most cases, this vodka sauce is usually non-vegan since cream is one of its ingredients.

That said, using a plant-based cream or milk changes that to a great extent.

Equally important, one also needs to use vodka, that’s ideal for vegans to make the sauce vegan.

Remember not to assume that the sauce is vegan unless it has a label stating so.

Regardless of whether you will enjoy the vegan or non-vegan version, the deliciousness of the Bertolli vodka sauce is indisputable.

More About Bertolli

Bertolli is a company based in Italy and doesn’t only revolve around the vodka sauce.

On the contrary, this company also makes other pasta sauces with various flavors and ingredients.

Its pasta sauces fall under two major categories, which are white pasta sauces and tomato pasta sauces.

Other products that Bertolli offers are cooking sprays and frozen dinners.

It reserves the right to change its products’ formulas whenever it deems it fit.

Which Ingredients Are in Bertolli Vodka Sauce?

Remember, it is the ingredients that determine whether a product is gluten-free or otherwise.

Therefore, one can’t insist enough on how vital it is to check the list of ingredients before purchasing something, especially if you are on a gluten-free diet.

It also applies if you are allergic to various foods to ensure that you don’t take something that triggers a reaction.

Most brands, including Bertolli, are kind enough to list the various ingredients, and the same applies to its vodka sauce.

To avoid any confusion about the ingredients, the brands go further to highlight that a particular ingredient isn’t gluten-free.

Some of the ingredients containing gluten are also obvious, including rye, oats, barley and wheat.

As for the Bertolli vodka sauce, its list of ingredients is at your disposal.

The main ingredient is tomatoes, which the manufacturer sources from Italy.

Another notable component is cheese, including Parmigiano–Reggiano, creamy, and real cream ones.

Here’s a list of the Bertolli vodka sauce ingredients;

  • Basil
  • Carrot
  • Citric Acid is derived naturally
  • Cream
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Garlic
  • Natural Flavor.
  • Onion
  • Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese comprising Enzymes, Pasteurized Part-Skim Milk, Salt, and Cheese Cultures
  • Salt
  • Soybean Oil
  • Spices
  • Tomatoes

Despite containing gluten, the sauce is delicious and nutritious for individuals without intolerance to this ingredient.

Can Celiacs Have Bertolli Vodka Sauce?

Celiacs shouldn’t have Bertolli vodka sauce since it contains gluten.

However, that doesn’t mean these individuals can’t enjoy sauces, including the ones with the vodka flavor.

After all, there are various gluten-free sauces that celiacs can take without worrying about adverse body reactions.

Various sauces and condiments such as coconut aminos, garlic, olive oil, salsa, ketchup, vinegar, horseradish, and mustard don’t contain gluten.

Some hot sauces are also gluten-free if that’s what your taste buds prefer.

Homemade sauces such as dressings, gravies, and marinades are also suitable for celiacs.

They can add taste to their favorite dishes with a honey mustard dressing, lemon garlic sauces, other vodka sauces, and basil pesto sauces since they often lack gluten.

Celiacs should avoid Worcestershire sauce, teriyaki sauce, and soy sauce unless they have a gluten-free label.

That’s because they often have ingredients with gluten, such as wheat.

Why Does Bertolli Use Vodka in its Sauce?

Like any other vodka sauce manufacturer, there are several reasons why Bertolli considers the ingredient.

First, vodka carries its neutrality with it, even in the sauce situation.

After all, its flavour isn’t quite powerful.

Nevertheless, it will refine and highlight the properties and flavors of other ingredients, thus making the sauce tasty.

Is Bertolli Spaghetti Sauce Gluten-Free?

Unlike its vodka counterpart, Bertolli spaghetti sauce is gluten-free.

That’s a common characteristic among its various pasta sauces, and this one isn’t an exception.

However, don’t assume that all its sauces are gluten-free since that’s far from the truth.

An excellent example of its Alfredo with Parmesan Sauce, which has wheat and rye and hence can’t be gluten-free.

It is important to ensure that you choose a non-gluten Bertolli sauce if that’s what you are looking for.

Remember that it is a brand that’s concerned about its customers, including the celiacs and those with gluten insensitivity.

So, it invites third parties to test their gluten-free products to avoid any mistake that could cost you your health or even life in the worst-case scenarios.

It also gets certification from the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) for such products.

What Are Great Alternatives to Bertolli Vodka Sauce?

Whether you don’t like its taste or you are looking for a change, various sauces could substitute the Bertolli one quite fine.

Such options include Rao’s Homemade, Emeril’s, Newman’s Own, and Classico.

Besides being tasty vodka sauces, they also have gluten-free varieties.

However, it is crucial to cautiously eat the sauces if your gluten intolerance is huge since cross-contamination often arises.

Regardless of how small the amount is, expect some reaction if you have gluten sensitivity.

Always look for vodka sauces with gluten-free labels to reduce such instances.

Is Bertolli Vodka Sauce Gluten Free?
Scroll to top