Is Black Bean Sauce Gluten Free?

It is no secret that black bean sauce is common when handling many dishes and cuisines.

From versatility to flavor to uniqueness, there are many reasons why most people go for it.

Despite the perks, how suitable is it if you have gluten intolerance?

It would be best not to worry about taking it since most black bean sauces are gluten-free.

Nevertheless, there are some exceptions, hence the need to pay attention to the ingredients of the black bean sauce.

If one of its ingredients has gluten, such as wheat, that sauce isn’t gluten-free.

Besides ingredients, you should also consider gluten-free labels.

After all, the black bean sauce may have non-gluten ingredients but still contain gluten due to cross-contamination.

Here’s everything you need to know about gluten-free black bean sauce.

What Are the Common Ingredients of a Gluten-Free Black Bean Sauce?

Remember that ingredients are the main determinant of whether a food item is gluten-free.

So, most gluten-free black bean sauces have the following ingredients.

  • Black Beans, although some go for the Fermented ones
  • Chili powder
  • Cornstarch
  • Garlic and onions
  • Ginger
  • Ground cumin
  • Olive oil
  • Oregano
  • Rice Vinegar
  • Sesame Oil
  • Soy Sauce
  • Sugar
  • Tomato paste
  • Water

All the above ingredients are non-gluten, which means the black bean sauce will be gluten-free unless cross-contamination arises.

What is the Nutritional Value of Black Bean Sauce?

The nutritional benefits of black bean sauce are indisputable.

For instance, the sauce has fewer calories than its counterparts, thanks to its low-fat content.

Equally important, it is rich in proteins, and the composition of the various nutrients in one tablespoon is as follows.

Black bean sauce also contains minerals and vitamins, such as zinc, potassium, phosphorus, magnesium, iron, and calcium.

Other vitamins include A and C, although they are in small quantities.

If you are cautious of salt intake, take black bean sauce in moderation since it contains sodium.

Where Can I Get Gluten-free Black Bean Sauce?

You can never have options when looking for gluten-free black bean sauce.

After all, there are various places to buy the ingredients, including national chains, big grocery stores, health food stores, natural food stores, and local grocery stores.

Since most stores offer various black bean sauces, the following tips will help you get a gluten-free one.

Look for the black bean sauce ingredients list to ensure that none contains gluten, especially wheat.

It is advisable to settle for only one with the gluten-free label since it means its lack of gluten is certified after scrutiny and tests.

Avoid black bean sauce containing additives such as artificial flavors, colors, and preservatives.

Alternatively, make your gluten-free black bean sauce from the comfort of your home.

How Can You Make Gluten-Free Black Bean Sauce at Home?

Like any other recipe, one needs the necessary ingredients to begin.

In this case, you will need the following;

  • Black Beans
  • Chili powder
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Ground cumin
  • Olive oil
  • Oregano
  • Tomato paste
  • Vegetable broth

Once ready, follow these simple steps;

  • Find a saucepan, preferably medium-sized, and add olive oil
  • Heat the olive oil in medium heat until it is hot
  • Add onion and garlic and cook it while stirring until they are soft.
  • Add the oregano, ground cumin, chili powder, tomato paste, and black beans before stirring the combination to mix.
  • Add your vegetable broth and wait for it to boil
  • Upon boiling, reduce the heat and simmer the dish for 10 to 15 minutes
  • Continue stirring the mixture now and then until the sauce becomes thick.
  • Serve your sauce once it cools slightly.
  • Alternatively, put it in an airtight container and store it in the fridge for one week.

It turns out that making homemade gluten-free black bean sauce is simple.

What Are the Advantages of Gluten-Free Black Bean Sauce?

If you are wondering why you should go through all this trouble, consider these benefits of eating gluten-free black bean sauce;

  • It prevents gas, bloating, and other digestive issues associated with gluten.
  • Expect no allergic reaction regardless of your gluten allergy
  • It is safe for people with celiac disease who love black bean sauce
  • People with gluten sensitivity can also take this sauce without dire consequences
  • Your body registers high energy levels
  • Your digestion will also improve
  • It is an excellent way of enhancing your overall health

Why would you not consume gluten-free black bean sauce if you can enjoy all these advantages?

Which Sauces Commonly Used in Chinese Cuisine Contain Gluten?

Did you know you could order a meal comprising all gluten-free ingredients only to mess it up with the sauce?

That’s why it is vital to choose yours wisely.

Unfortunately, that’s a common mistake, but knowing sauces containing gluten can help.

If you are eating in a Chinese restaurant and on a gluten-free diet, avoid the following sauces containing gluten.

Teriyaki Sauce

Besides Chinese food, this sauce is also common in the Japanese cuisine.

It has ingredients containing gluten, such as wheat and soy sauce.

Oyster Sauce

It is a tempting choice when ordering various vegetable dishes or noodles.

However, oyster sauce contains gluten, hence unsuitable for people with celiac or similar intolerance.

Hoisin Sauce

This sauce is common among Chinese dishes such as the Pecking duck.

Remember that it also has wheat, which means it contains gluten.

Soy Sauce

Of the various sauces available, soy sauce is one of the most popular options.

However, it isn’t ideal for a gluten-free dish since it has wheat.

Nevertheless, some manufacturers also make gluten-free soy sauces that are tasty and worth considering.

Which Other Chinese Foods Have Gluten

Besides the above sauces, the following food items in Chinese cuisine also contain gluten;

  • Breaded meats or food
  • Chow mein noodles
  • Dishes containing broth
  • Egg drop soup
  • Egg rolls and dumplings
  • Food served with dark brown sauces, including fish sauce, oyster sauce, teriyaki sauce, and duck sauce.
  • Food served with soy sauce, unless it is gluten-free one
  • Fortune cookies
  • Fried rice containing soy sauce
  • Mein, udon, ramen, and other wheat noodles
  • Sweet and sour chicken

Avoid the food items above if you have gluten sensitivity.

Is Black Bean Sauce Gluten Free?
Scroll to top