Does Lobster Sauce Have Gluten?

If you have celiac or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, you must have learned the importance of ensuring you only eat food without the allergen.

That’s why you can’t eat lobster sauce unless you confirm it doesn’t have gluten.

If you would love to enjoy its indisputable deliciousness, do not hesitate because lobster sauce doesn’t have gluten.

It probably doesn’t come as a surprise since lobster is naturally gluten-free.

However, you know well enough not to make assumptions based on general information since cooks often add other ingredients when preparing the lobster sauce.

Fortunately, not even the other common ingredients of the lobster sauce contain gluten.

That doesn’t mean that all cooks prepare it with gluten-free ingredients.

So, unless that happens or there is an issue of cross-contamination, one can say without any fear of contradiction that lobster sauce doesn’t contain gluten.

Here’s a detailed discussion on the lobster sauce to help you understand it as much as possible.

What is Lobster Sauce?

Lobster sauce is a source that originated in North America, but it was all thanks to Chinese restaurant owners in the area.

It involved the preparation of lobster in Cantonese cuisine.

Other ingredients that came into play included green onion and ginger when making the sauce.

In other instances, people would also add soy sauce when making this sauce.

However, as soon as one introduces soy sauce, the lobster sauce stops being gluten-free for obvious reasons.

Its richness and flavor saw it become popular among many people.

Why is Lobster Sauce Rare?

Whereas lobster sauce is delicious and famous, it is often hard to find a restaurant that serves it.

After all, lobster is relatively expensive, which explains why most restaurants prefer its alternative.

So, which is this ingredient that offers an alternative to lobster sauce?

That’s what the next segment is all about, so keep reading.

What is the Alternative Lobster Sauce?

It turns out that restaurants have devised a way of ensuring that one enjoys a sauce similar to the lobster without breaking the bank.

This alternative goes by the name shrimp in lobster sauce.

As the name suggests, its main ingredient is shrimp, which replaces the lobster since it is a cheaper alternative.

The dish contains shrimp that’s stir-fried and served with the lobster sauce.

This sauce comprises eggs, green onions, garlic, and chicken broth.

Depending on taste and preference, some cooks also add minced pork and soy sauce to it.

The residents of the United States often call it white sauce.

For anyone looking for a light Chinese food dish, the shrimp in lobster sauce usually fits the bill excellently.

So, despite the name, don’t expect to find any lobster in the shrimp in lobster sauce.

It is an incident similar to the Chinese Fish Flavor Eggplants.

Interestingly, the dish contains Eggplant in Garlic Sauce, but fish isn’t an ingredient.

However, one must admit that it is a sauce often used when cooling fish, which is most likely why it got that name.

So, Is Shrimp in Lobster Sauce Gluten Free?

Besides being an alternative to lobster sauce, this dish is also gluten-free.

However, there are some exceptions where the shrimp in lobster sauce contains gluten.

An excellent example is adding soy sauce, which introduces gluten.

Since it isn’t a compulsory ingredient, you can always avoid it if you are on a gluten-free diet.

The bottom line is ensuring that you don’t add any ingredient that contains gluten to the sauce if you want it gluten-free.

Tips When Ordering Gluten-free Chinese Food

Remember that Chinese restaurants offer food items that mostly contain gluten.

Therefore, it is important to be careful when choosing meals from Chinese cuisine, especially if you have celiac or any other gluten sensitivity.

It explains the need to remember the following tips to avoid letting your body down, whether ordering lobster sauce or any other Chinese dish.

Avoid Dark Sauces

Start by avoiding dark sauces, which are quite common in Chinese food.

That’s because one of their ingredients is usually wheat, an indisputable gluten source.

Examples of dark sauces worth avoiding are the hoisin sauce, teriyaki sauce, oyster sauce, duck sauce, and fish sauce.

However, some brands offer gluten-free dark sauces, but you can’t afford to assume.

Always look for labels reading gluten-free before proceeding to enjoy that sauce.

Alternatively, stick to the white sauce or no sauce to be safe.

Don’t Use Soy Sauce Either

The commonly used soy sauce in Chinese restaurants is the typical one containing wheat.

Therefore, besides the dark sauces, you should also strike the traditional soy sauce from your list to avoid gluten.

If you must enjoy soy sauce, come with your gluten-free ones, such as the coconut aminos and the tamari soy sauce.

Talk to the Staff About Your Diet Requirements

Remember that most of the dishes available in Chinese restaurants contain gluten.

Consequently, there are high chances of cross-contamination, which is bad news.

Regardless of all the gluten-free ingredients, you will face the consequences due to cross-contamination.

That’s where you approach the staff and explain your situation.

If the restaurant is kind and considerate, it will prevent your food from coming into contact with any gluten.

Don’t Share Food at Your Table

Avoid tasting their dishes unless everyone at your table eats a gluten-free diet.

After all, it might contain gluten, which isn’t good for your body.

Even contact with these dishes can lead to cross-contamination, and the consequences will follow.

If you must share regarding the Chinese tradition, every dish or bowl should have a dedicated spoon.

Which Other Chinese Food is Gluten-Free?

Besides lobster sauce and shrimp in lobster sauce, there are other gluten-free Chinese foods.

You can check the menu or ask the staff to ensure you order a meal without gluten.

  • Noodles
  • Meat
  • Vegetables
  • Sriracha sauce
  • Tamari soy sauce
  • Soba noodles from buckwheat
  • Glass noodles from green peas, tapioca, potato or mung beans
  • Plain white rice dishes
  • Brown rice dishes
  • Rice noodles
  • Thin noodles or mei fun
  • Wide noodles or chow fun

Ensure you ask when unsure since your body won’t forgive even an honest mistake under these circumstances.

Does Lobster Sauce Have Gluten?
Scroll to top